Emerging Trail Leader Scholarship Recipient


Dean Arnold

Phoenix, Arizona, United States

I would be thrilled to attend the International Trails Symposium as an Emerging Leader for the opportunity to honor Hulet Hornbeck by developing myself with other ambitious people. I endeavor to create a legacy of my own by solving problems at the intersection of social equity, resource conservation, and resilient business practices – what is recognized now as ‘sustainability’. There is a clear match between this career goal of mine and my background and the expected activities and qualifications for this scholarship.

I recently graduated from ASU with a degree in Sustainability with certification in Geographic Information Systems, and now work at Arizona State Parks and Trails (ASP&T) as an AmeriCorps Intern.

After 6 months of working with ASP&T, I implemented solutions that exceeds the expectations of intern level work. For instance, I created a GIS Mobile Application to reduce our statewide inspection time by 20 days a year. I also wrote our first Sustainability Policy and Plan and created our Sustainability

Advisory Committee with senior staff. Now, I am working on data collection at our state parks so that we can enhance our trails system. By the time of the symposium, I will have hiked and documented over 160 trails and will have improved our trails management and public facing maps.

Attending ITS will be an excellent opportunity for me share my experience working within ASP&T. I am interested in the prospect of meeting other passionate individuals and contributing to the learning capacity of the American Trails community by participating in education sessions, professional development activities, and bonding with my mentor and cohort. I would be happy to present on my experience at the ITS to demonstrate my ardor for trails and open spaces.

More winners of this award

2023: Hillary Kiplagat Kibiwott

2023: Foo Chuen Yong

2023: Goda Lukoseviciute

2023: Gabriel Pacheco Santa

2023: Dillon Osleger-Montanez

2023: Mata Townsend

2023: Laura Scrimshaw

2023: Laramie Unruh

2023: Damian Morando

2023: Ashot Davtyan

2023: Alexander DeGrenier

2023: Dave Bingaman

2023: Morgan Wendt

2023: Christine Prescott

2023: Pranil Upadhayaya

2023: Cesar Aspiazu

2023: Pedro Cunha e Menezes

2023: Paula Rascão

2019: Alivia Acosta

2019: Alyssa Wentz

2019: Bonnie Ricord

2019: Cody Arana

2019: Elyse Peters

2019: Erinn Drage

2019: Greg Grierson

2019: India Nielson

2019: Julien Cossette

2019: Julio Escarce

2019: Katie Koster

2019: Kendra Barat

2019: Michael Meister

2019: Mike Giapponi

2019: Nicole Elizabeth Barrios Adames

2017: Adriana Robles

2017: Alejandra Turcios

2017: Amanda Wheelock

2017: Annie Cohen

2017: Berhat ‘Onat’ Alan

2017: Caitlin Toner

2017: Chris Rivera

2017: Emily Wilkins

2017: Indie Lewis

2017: Levi Ballard

2017: Montana Napier

2017: Oliver Marzetti

2017: Seth Young

2017: Stephanie Cantu

2017: Toyya Mahoney

219 views • posted 12/13/2022