Emerging Trail Leader Scholarship Recipient


Dillon Osleger-Montanez

Ojai, California, United States

I am one of the only hispanic executive directors of a trail organization in California, and likely the US. I also come from a different background from most trail builders, having a masters degree and extensive work experience in the natural sciences including: soils, geology, climate and ecology. This experience and way of thinking has netted me working partnerships with over 14 public land managers covering 12,000+ acres of land trust land, and 200,000 acres of state / federal lands with over 280 miles of trail. I have built new trails on this land, have restored older fire burnt trail, and maintain the network in its entirety.

I also work at multiple levels of advocacy in the trails, climate and equality spaces, having had direct meetings with legislature at local, state and federal levels (including visits directly with congressmen in their offices discussing trail needs in response to demand and changing climate).

My work impacts over 1.2 million residents (SB & Ventura counties) and thus my learning at this conference will benefit them as well.

More winners of this award

2023: Hillary Kiplagat Kibiwott

2023: Foo Chuen Yong

2023: Goda Lukoseviciute

2023: Gabriel Pacheco Santa

2023: Mata Townsend

2023: Laura Scrimshaw

2023: Laramie Unruh

2023: Damian Morando

2023: Ashot Davtyan

2023: Alexander DeGrenier

2023: Dave Bingaman

2023: Morgan Wendt

2023: Christine Prescott

2023: Pranil Upadhayaya

2023: Cesar Aspiazu

2023: Pedro Cunha e Menezes

2023: Paula Rascão

2019: Alivia Acosta

2019: Alyssa Wentz

2019: Bonnie Ricord

2019: Cody Arana

2019: Elyse Peters

2019: Erinn Drage

2019: Greg Grierson

2019: India Nielson

2019: Julien Cossette

2019: Julio Escarce

2019: Katie Koster

2019: Kendra Barat

2019: Michael Meister

2019: Mike Giapponi

2019: Nicole Elizabeth Barrios Adames

2017: Adriana Robles

2017: Alejandra Turcios

2017: Amanda Wheelock

2017: Annie Cohen

2017: Berhat ‘Onat’ Alan

2017: Caitlin Toner

2017: Chris Rivera

2017: Dean Arnold

2017: Emily Wilkins

2017: Indie Lewis

2017: Levi Ballard

2017: Montana Napier

2017: Oliver Marzetti

2017: Seth Young

2017: Stephanie Cantu

2017: Toyya Mahoney

429 views • posted 12/02/2022