Emerging Trail Leader Scholarship Recipient


Emily Wilkins

Fort Collins, Colorado, United States

I am currently as a social scientist in human dimensions of natural resources and a part-time PhD student studying outdoor recreation and protected areas. In May 2016, I received my M.S. studying the economic impact of climate change and weather on nature-based tourism to Maine, USA. I decided to pursue this career path after spending two seasons on trail crew – one in Arapahoe National Forest and one as an assistant crew leader in Rocky Mountain National Park. These experiences made me realize how valuable trails are and how the greatest thing we can do for the environment is to get people connected to nature so they will want to respect and protect it. Therefore, for my PhD dissertation I also want to research the interaction between people and the environment, specifically on parks and trails. I am unsure the exact topic I want to research yet, which is why attending this conference will be an invaluable opportunity. All of my research is very applied as has direct implications for park managers, so I want to hear all about trails from around the world before settling on a topic. Additionally, I would love for my research to have an international component, and this would be a great opportunity to network with people from other countries and see what is needed and talk about how trails might be different in different parts of the world.

More winners of this award

2023: Hillary Kiplagat Kibiwott

2023: Foo Chuen Yong

2023: Goda Lukoseviciute

2023: Gabriel Pacheco Santa

2023: Dillon Osleger-Montanez

2023: Mata Townsend

2023: Laura Scrimshaw

2023: Laramie Unruh

2023: Damian Morando

2023: Ashot Davtyan

2023: Alexander DeGrenier

2023: Dave Bingaman

2023: Morgan Wendt

2023: Christine Prescott

2023: Pranil Upadhayaya

2023: Cesar Aspiazu

2023: Pedro Cunha e Menezes

2023: Paula Rascão

2019: Alivia Acosta

2019: Alyssa Wentz

2019: Bonnie Ricord

2019: Cody Arana

2019: Elyse Peters

2019: Erinn Drage

2019: Greg Grierson

2019: India Nielson

2019: Julien Cossette

2019: Julio Escarce

2019: Katie Koster

2019: Kendra Barat

2019: Michael Meister

2019: Mike Giapponi

2019: Nicole Elizabeth Barrios Adames

2017: Adriana Robles

2017: Alejandra Turcios

2017: Amanda Wheelock

2017: Annie Cohen

2017: Berhat ‘Onat’ Alan

2017: Caitlin Toner

2017: Chris Rivera

2017: Dean Arnold

2017: Indie Lewis

2017: Levi Ballard

2017: Montana Napier

2017: Oliver Marzetti

2017: Seth Young

2017: Stephanie Cantu

2017: Toyya Mahoney

236 views • posted 12/13/2022