Emerging Trail Leader Scholarship Recipient


Toyya Mahoney

Las Vegas, Nevada, United States

My name is Toyya Mahoney and I am very interested in the Emerging Leaders Scholarship Program. I have a bachelor's degree in Public Administration. I have been gaining trail work experience working for the Bureau of Reclamation while working towards a position in environmental awareness. My ultimate goal is to become a superintendent of a park and to create a legacy which inspires the next generation of trail leaders.

My passion is to connect people and nature. There are many factors preventing people from volunteering and exploring outdoors. It is my mission to change people's involvement in the outdoor. I am actively engaged in the Las Vegas community creating environmental stewards to protect our public land by maintaining and creating enjoyable, diverse, and inclusive experiences for people on trails. I am part of several organizations that are confronting the issues that my generation faces to provide individuals of all ages and backgrounds access to the outdoors. The connection that people are making keeps them motivated to spend more time in the outdoor and to keep it pristine.

If I am a selected as a recipient for the Hulet Hornbeck scholarship, this program will help me learn the best practices and trends in the field; to build a great foundation for a promising careers in conservation, restoration, preservation, and outdoor recreation. I will be pursuing a master's degree in Recreation, Park, and Land Management to further my education and experience with public trails. Thank you in advance for the consideration.

More winners of this award

2023: Hillary Kiplagat Kibiwott

2023: Foo Chuen Yong

2023: Goda Lukoseviciute

2023: Gabriel Pacheco Santa

2023: Dillon Osleger-Montanez

2023: Mata Townsend

2023: Laura Scrimshaw

2023: Laramie Unruh

2023: Damian Morando

2023: Ashot Davtyan

2023: Alexander DeGrenier

2023: Dave Bingaman

2023: Morgan Wendt

2023: Christine Prescott

2023: Pranil Upadhayaya

2023: Cesar Aspiazu

2023: Pedro Cunha e Menezes

2023: Paula Rascão

2019: Alivia Acosta

2019: Alyssa Wentz

2019: Bonnie Ricord

2019: Cody Arana

2019: Elyse Peters

2019: Erinn Drage

2019: Greg Grierson

2019: India Nielson

2019: Julien Cossette

2019: Julio Escarce

2019: Katie Koster

2019: Kendra Barat

2019: Michael Meister

2019: Mike Giapponi

2019: Nicole Elizabeth Barrios Adames

2017: Adriana Robles

2017: Alejandra Turcios

2017: Amanda Wheelock

2017: Annie Cohen

2017: Berhat ‘Onat’ Alan

2017: Caitlin Toner

2017: Chris Rivera

2017: Dean Arnold

2017: Emily Wilkins

2017: Indie Lewis

2017: Levi Ballard

2017: Montana Napier

2017: Oliver Marzetti

2017: Seth Young

2017: Stephanie Cantu

296 views • posted 12/13/2022