Emerging Trail Leader Scholarship Recipient


Pedro Cunha e Menezes

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

As a member of the Brazilian Trails Network board of directors I will receive the Advancing Trails Award on its behalf. I am paying out of own pocket the airfare, which amounts to US$ 1,800, so any scholarship is greatly appreciated. I am the founder of the first Brazilian Long Distance Trail, the Transcarioca Trail, and the Brazilian Trails Network. I work with trails since 1996, as a professional civil service administrator, in the local and national levels, having worked with trails in the Rio City Hall and in the ICMBIO (Brazil´s National Parks agency) as a volunteer, I formed the Transcarioca Trails Movement, and the Brazilian Trails Association, and have been doing trail management since 1994. As a writer, I have published more than 10 books and 200 articles on trails. I am a member of the Board of Directors of both the World Trails Network and the World Trails Network Hub of the Americas. As a hiker, I walk an average 1200 km of trails every year. I have visited more than 300 long distance trails on more de 100 countries.

More winners of this award

2023: Hillary Kiplagat Kibiwott

2023: Foo Chuen Yong

2023: Goda Lukoseviciute

2023: Gabriel Pacheco Santa

2023: Dillon Osleger-Montanez

2023: Mata Townsend

2023: Laura Scrimshaw

2023: Laramie Unruh

2023: Damian Morando

2023: Ashot Davtyan

2023: Alexander DeGrenier

2023: Dave Bingaman

2023: Morgan Wendt

2023: Christine Prescott

2023: Pranil Upadhayaya

2023: Cesar Aspiazu

2023: Paula Rascão

2019: Alivia Acosta

2019: Alyssa Wentz

2019: Bonnie Ricord

2019: Cody Arana

2019: Elyse Peters

2019: Erinn Drage

2019: Greg Grierson

2019: India Nielson

2019: Julien Cossette

2019: Julio Escarce

2019: Katie Koster

2019: Kendra Barat

2019: Michael Meister

2019: Mike Giapponi

2019: Nicole Elizabeth Barrios Adames

2017: Adriana Robles

2017: Alejandra Turcios

2017: Amanda Wheelock

2017: Annie Cohen

2017: Berhat ‘Onat’ Alan

2017: Caitlin Toner

2017: Chris Rivera

2017: Dean Arnold

2017: Emily Wilkins

2017: Indie Lewis

2017: Levi Ballard

2017: Montana Napier

2017: Oliver Marzetti

2017: Seth Young

2017: Stephanie Cantu

2017: Toyya Mahoney

313 views • posted 03/28/2023