Emerging Trail Leader Scholarship Recipient


Mata Townsend

Kansas City, Kansas, United States

As the Heritage Trail Community Outreach Coordinator at Groundwork Northeast Revitalization Group (GNRG), I am eager to strengthen my expertise about the creation of trails by attending the American Trails Summit with the help of a scholarship. Approximately 10 years ago, Groundwork Northeast Revitalization Group (GNRG) embarked on an ambitious plan to improve the livability of the northeast corridor of Kansas City, Kansas. GNRG, with help of local residents and its supporters, developed the Northeast Area Master Plan (NEAMP). The plan includes, among many other improvement initiatives, not only an inviting urban trail, but an opportunity to walk (or bike or run) through stories about the former underground railroad site, the birthplace of blues great Charlie Parker, and other people, places, and events in our community's rich history. Through years of challenges and setbacks, we completed the Heritage Trail Plan this summer. That phase now deserves to become a reality, and this conference is the right time and place to help make the completion of the implementation phase a success.

More winners of this award

2023: Hillary Kiplagat Kibiwott

2023: Foo Chuen Yong

2023: Goda Lukoseviciute

2023: Gabriel Pacheco Santa

2023: Dillon Osleger-Montanez

2023: Laura Scrimshaw

2023: Laramie Unruh

2023: Damian Morando

2023: Ashot Davtyan

2023: Alexander DeGrenier

2023: Dave Bingaman

2023: Morgan Wendt

2023: Christine Prescott

2023: Pranil Upadhayaya

2023: Cesar Aspiazu

2023: Pedro Cunha e Menezes

2023: Paula Rascão

2019: Alivia Acosta

2019: Alyssa Wentz

2019: Bonnie Ricord

2019: Cody Arana

2019: Elyse Peters

2019: Erinn Drage

2019: Greg Grierson

2019: India Nielson

2019: Julien Cossette

2019: Julio Escarce

2019: Katie Koster

2019: Kendra Barat

2019: Michael Meister

2019: Mike Giapponi

2019: Nicole Elizabeth Barrios Adames

2017: Adriana Robles

2017: Alejandra Turcios

2017: Amanda Wheelock

2017: Annie Cohen

2017: Berhat ‘Onat’ Alan

2017: Caitlin Toner

2017: Chris Rivera

2017: Dean Arnold

2017: Emily Wilkins

2017: Indie Lewis

2017: Levi Ballard

2017: Montana Napier

2017: Oliver Marzetti

2017: Seth Young

2017: Stephanie Cantu

2017: Toyya Mahoney

364 views • posted 12/02/2022