Emerging Trail Leader Scholarship Recipient


Alexander DeGrenier

Sarasota, Florida, United States

Ever since I started working in the outdoors, I have become increasingly passionate about creating, preserving, and maintaining access to sustainable trails in the United States. I began my journey in Ruidoso, NM, participating in a year long Americorps program, EcoServants. During that time I developed a strong foundation of sustainable trail construction skills and design, building and maintaining trail across Lincoln County NM.

Concluding that, I moved to Port Angeles, WA, for another one year Americorps program with the Washington Conservation Corps. I served as the assistant supervisor on a crew doing maintenance in Olympic National Park. This experience was a polar opposite from the work I had done in NM- all trail maintenance, with heavy saw work, rigging, and carpentry. Additionally, lots of time spent in the backcountry.

Currently, I’m an independent contractor, building sustainable trail systems on private properties in the San Juan Islands of Washington. While I do ultimately aim to get back to building trail in public spaces, the opportunity to construct trails without a crew to work with me has been an immense learning experience, and has helped me grow my sustainable trail building skills exponentially.

Ultimately, I hope to lead and inspire the next generation of young professional trail workers. I have learned so many important things from those who taught me, and I believe it is my duty to continue to pass on that knowledge.

More winners of this award

2023: Hillary Kiplagat Kibiwott

2023: Foo Chuen Yong

2023: Goda Lukoseviciute

2023: Gabriel Pacheco Santa

2023: Dillon Osleger-Montanez

2023: Mata Townsend

2023: Laura Scrimshaw

2023: Laramie Unruh

2023: Damian Morando

2023: Ashot Davtyan

2023: Dave Bingaman

2023: Morgan Wendt

2023: Christine Prescott

2023: Pranil Upadhayaya

2023: Cesar Aspiazu

2023: Pedro Cunha e Menezes

2023: Paula Rascão

2019: Alivia Acosta

2019: Alyssa Wentz

2019: Bonnie Ricord

2019: Cody Arana

2019: Elyse Peters

2019: Erinn Drage

2019: Greg Grierson

2019: India Nielson

2019: Julien Cossette

2019: Julio Escarce

2019: Katie Koster

2019: Kendra Barat

2019: Michael Meister

2019: Mike Giapponi

2019: Nicole Elizabeth Barrios Adames

2017: Adriana Robles

2017: Alejandra Turcios

2017: Amanda Wheelock

2017: Annie Cohen

2017: Berhat ‘Onat’ Alan

2017: Caitlin Toner

2017: Chris Rivera

2017: Dean Arnold

2017: Emily Wilkins

2017: Indie Lewis

2017: Levi Ballard

2017: Montana Napier

2017: Oliver Marzetti

2017: Seth Young

2017: Stephanie Cantu

2017: Toyya Mahoney

339 views • posted 03/20/2023