Emerging Trail Leader Scholarship Recipient


Cesar Aspiazu

La Paz, Bolivia

The motivations for participating in ITS arise from the challenges and opportunities perceived in the field from my experience in the process of implementing Long Distance Trails. In order to debate different issues emerging from LDTs and LDT Systems in the international arena, I am pursuing my PhD with the interest of understanding the particularities of each of the National FTA Systems, as well as their relations with nature conservation.

I believe that LDTs are visitation instruments that have the potential to put themselves at the service of nature conservation, promote public use, recreation, health, environmental education, employment generation, and income diversification. However, the relationships between FTAs, eco-tourism, conservation, and sustainability are not intrinsic. Studying the ways in which impacts, both positive and negative, are articulated by the directors, managers, volunteers, entrepreneurs, and users of different systems and FTAs is of particular interest to the development of more sustainable Long Range Trails. I believe that the realization of an effective Pan American Trails and Connectivity Network depends on a systemic understanding of what FTAs propose. Just as there are perceived environmental, economic, and social benefits, it is important to evaluate the potential threats that FTAs may have on natural environments and the socioeconomic structure of populations.

My participation in the STI is oriented towards generating data and providing diagnostic tools, which allow the evaluation of the socio-environmental sustainability of FTAs as landscape connectors and vectors for sustainable development.

More winners of this award

2023: Hillary Kiplagat Kibiwott

2023: Foo Chuen Yong

2023: Goda Lukoseviciute

2023: Gabriel Pacheco Santa

2023: Dillon Osleger-Montanez

2023: Mata Townsend

2023: Laura Scrimshaw

2023: Laramie Unruh

2023: Damian Morando

2023: Ashot Davtyan

2023: Alexander DeGrenier

2023: Dave Bingaman

2023: Morgan Wendt

2023: Christine Prescott

2023: Pranil Upadhayaya

2023: Pedro Cunha e Menezes

2023: Paula Rascão

2019: Alivia Acosta

2019: Alyssa Wentz

2019: Bonnie Ricord

2019: Cody Arana

2019: Elyse Peters

2019: Erinn Drage

2019: Greg Grierson

2019: India Nielson

2019: Julien Cossette

2019: Julio Escarce

2019: Katie Koster

2019: Kendra Barat

2019: Michael Meister

2019: Mike Giapponi

2019: Nicole Elizabeth Barrios Adames

2017: Adriana Robles

2017: Alejandra Turcios

2017: Amanda Wheelock

2017: Annie Cohen

2017: Berhat ‘Onat’ Alan

2017: Caitlin Toner

2017: Chris Rivera

2017: Dean Arnold

2017: Emily Wilkins

2017: Indie Lewis

2017: Levi Ballard

2017: Montana Napier

2017: Oliver Marzetti

2017: Seth Young

2017: Stephanie Cantu

2017: Toyya Mahoney

317 views • posted 03/28/2023