Emerging Trail Leader Scholarship Recipient


Elyse Peters

Jasper, Alabama, United States

With the skills I learn at the 2019 International Trails Symposium and Training Institute, I will continue my commitment to creating equitable, sustainable outdoor spaces in the Southeast. I will bring back what I learn at the international symposium to my small corner of the world. Alabama is ripe with eco-tourism potential, and I want to be a part of connecting residents and tourists to its natural beauty. While myself and my community are at the beginning stages of developing a system of connecting outdoor recreation spaces, I hope to glean knowledge through meeting mentors and practical experience through the workshops.

Currently, I am involved with coordinating the development of a 31-mile blueway in Walker County, Alabama. Alabama has many best-kept secrets, and one of them is our diverse natural beauty. Through public-private partnerships, we are laying the foundation to build an outdoor recreation economy for our communities. The Walker County Waterways Initiative will connect 8 public access points along 4 blueways, creating 31 miles of new public green space. 4 of the access points will be new and 4 are existing access points that will be enhanced. At one of the existing access points, we have constructed an ADA-compliant pier for creek-side fishing, added ADA parking and path of access to the pier and bathroom. We are also working with private landowners to identify locations for primitive camping along each of the waterways, expanding the length of time people can spend out on the water.

There are many best practices to bring back from those who have been involved in this work for decades. As I learn new insights from others, I hope to bring the perspective of rural, southern United States. I am honored to have been selected as an Emerging Trail Leader to participate in the 2019 International Trails Symposium.

More winners of this award

2023: Hillary Kiplagat Kibiwott

2023: Foo Chuen Yong

2023: Goda Lukoseviciute

2023: Gabriel Pacheco Santa

2023: Dillon Osleger-Montanez

2023: Mata Townsend

2023: Laura Scrimshaw

2023: Laramie Unruh

2023: Damian Morando

2023: Ashot Davtyan

2023: Alexander DeGrenier

2023: Dave Bingaman

2023: Morgan Wendt

2023: Christine Prescott

2023: Pranil Upadhayaya

2023: Cesar Aspiazu

2023: Pedro Cunha e Menezes

2023: Paula Rascão

2019: Alivia Acosta

2019: Alyssa Wentz

2019: Bonnie Ricord

2019: Cody Arana

2019: Erinn Drage

2019: Greg Grierson

2019: India Nielson

2019: Julien Cossette

2019: Julio Escarce

2019: Katie Koster

2019: Kendra Barat

2019: Michael Meister

2019: Mike Giapponi

2019: Nicole Elizabeth Barrios Adames

2017: Adriana Robles

2017: Alejandra Turcios

2017: Amanda Wheelock

2017: Annie Cohen

2017: Berhat ‘Onat’ Alan

2017: Caitlin Toner

2017: Chris Rivera

2017: Dean Arnold

2017: Emily Wilkins

2017: Indie Lewis

2017: Levi Ballard

2017: Montana Napier

2017: Oliver Marzetti

2017: Seth Young

2017: Stephanie Cantu

2017: Toyya Mahoney

226 views • posted 12/02/2022