Emerging Trail Leader Scholarship Recipient


Cody Arana

Albany, New York, United States

With the skills I learn at the 2019 International Trails Symposium and Training Institute, I will be more equipped to advocate and promote public access to our environments by way of trails. Currently, I am a graduate student pursuing my Master in Urban and Regional Planning (MRP) at the University at Albany, SUNY. I am also an Assistant Event Coordinator for the Hudson River Valley Greenway (HRVG), which is a New York State agency responsible for being a steward of quality-of-life in the Hudson Valley. My responsibilities at the HRVG primary include the promotion of the Hudson Valley's regional network of trails, its outstanding nature, its diverse culture, and deep history to encourage economic development in the region. As a life-long trail enthusiast it is my passion to use my experiences and knowledge to progress conservation efforts to be sure that the land and trails I enjoyed growing up will be available for generations to come. With my off time, I enjoy hiking, kayaking, traveling, and spending quality time with my family.

More winners of this award

2023: Hillary Kiplagat Kibiwott

2023: Foo Chuen Yong

2023: Goda Lukoseviciute

2023: Gabriel Pacheco Santa

2023: Dillon Osleger-Montanez

2023: Mata Townsend

2023: Laura Scrimshaw

2023: Laramie Unruh

2023: Damian Morando

2023: Ashot Davtyan

2023: Alexander DeGrenier

2023: Dave Bingaman

2023: Morgan Wendt

2023: Christine Prescott

2023: Pranil Upadhayaya

2023: Cesar Aspiazu

2023: Pedro Cunha e Menezes

2023: Paula Rascão

2019: Alivia Acosta

2019: Alyssa Wentz

2019: Bonnie Ricord

2019: Elyse Peters

2019: Erinn Drage

2019: Greg Grierson

2019: India Nielson

2019: Julien Cossette

2019: Julio Escarce

2019: Katie Koster

2019: Kendra Barat

2019: Michael Meister

2019: Mike Giapponi

2019: Nicole Elizabeth Barrios Adames

2017: Adriana Robles

2017: Alejandra Turcios

2017: Amanda Wheelock

2017: Annie Cohen

2017: Berhat ‘Onat’ Alan

2017: Caitlin Toner

2017: Chris Rivera

2017: Dean Arnold

2017: Emily Wilkins

2017: Indie Lewis

2017: Levi Ballard

2017: Montana Napier

2017: Oliver Marzetti

2017: Seth Young

2017: Stephanie Cantu

2017: Toyya Mahoney

228 views • posted 12/02/2022