Emerging Trail Leader Scholarship Recipient


Laramie Unruh

LaCygne, Kansas, United States

I am a recent college graduate who is currently employed part time by a small nonprofit, the Kansas Alliance for Wetlands and Streams. I just started as the Project Coordinator for the Arkansas River National Water Trail which was designated in 2016. We are currently searching for funding to turn my position into a salaried one, but that is still in the future awhile. I am currently in the process of relocating for this position and my fiancé is switching jobs to help accommodate mine. We are also planning a wedding so you could say money is tight! But I would hate for that to be a barrier to me gaining invaluable knowledge about how to manage trails while I'm so early on in my career. Our small staff and budget, mixed with the fact that most of our employees are focused on watershed protection, means that I have had less training in the trail management aspect of my position. This scholarship would allow me to dive headfirst into how to best manage this wonderful water trail that I have been so lucky to be a part of.

More winners of this award

2023: Hillary Kiplagat Kibiwott

2023: Foo Chuen Yong

2023: Goda Lukoseviciute

2023: Gabriel Pacheco Santa

2023: Dillon Osleger-Montanez

2023: Mata Townsend

2023: Laura Scrimshaw

2023: Damian Morando

2023: Ashot Davtyan

2023: Alexander DeGrenier

2023: Dave Bingaman

2023: Morgan Wendt

2023: Christine Prescott

2023: Pranil Upadhayaya

2023: Cesar Aspiazu

2023: Pedro Cunha e Menezes

2023: Paula Rascão

2019: Alivia Acosta

2019: Alyssa Wentz

2019: Bonnie Ricord

2019: Cody Arana

2019: Elyse Peters

2019: Erinn Drage

2019: Greg Grierson

2019: India Nielson

2019: Julien Cossette

2019: Julio Escarce

2019: Katie Koster

2019: Kendra Barat

2019: Michael Meister

2019: Mike Giapponi

2019: Nicole Elizabeth Barrios Adames

2017: Adriana Robles

2017: Alejandra Turcios

2017: Amanda Wheelock

2017: Annie Cohen

2017: Berhat ‘Onat’ Alan

2017: Caitlin Toner

2017: Chris Rivera

2017: Dean Arnold

2017: Emily Wilkins

2017: Indie Lewis

2017: Levi Ballard

2017: Montana Napier

2017: Oliver Marzetti

2017: Seth Young

2017: Stephanie Cantu

2017: Toyya Mahoney

400 views • posted 12/02/2022