We'd like to introduce the Board of Directors of American Trails and tell you more about these committed trails activists. Click on a board member's name to read their bio.


American Trails Executive Committee

Marianne Fowler
2nd Vice-Chair
Rails-to-Trails Conservancy (RTC)
Washington, DC

Jennifer Rigby
Vice Chair
The Acorn Group
Tustin, CA

American Trails Directors

American Trails Advisors

Steve Anderson
Trails & Open Space Coordinator
Pima County Natural Resources,
Parks & Recreation
Tucson, AZ
Peter Axelson
Director of Research & Development
Beneficial Designs, Inc.
Minden, NV
Roger Bell
Trails Consultant
Redlands, CA

Nathan Caldwell

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Trails, and Transit Coordinator
Arlington, VA
John R. Collins, Jr., PhD
University of North Texas
Denton, TX

James Coffman

1998 National Trails Symposium Co-Chair
Coffman Studio - Landscape Architecture & Planning
Tempe, AZ
Troy Duffin
Alpine Trails, Inc.
Park City, UT

Christopher B. Douwes
Trails and Enhancements Program Mgr.
Federal Highway Administration
Washington, DC
Mylon Filkins, DVM
Equestrian Representative
Bakersfield, CA

Chuck Flink

Greenways Incorporated
Durham, NC

Erik Larsen

Arnold Palmer Design Company
Orlando, FL
Kay Lloyd
Past Chair
Cle Elum, WA

Stuart Macdonald

Chair, National Assoc.
of State Trail Administrators
La Conner, WA
Gil Penalosa
Walk & Bike for Life
8-80 Cities
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Deb Salt
National Trails Program Coordinator
Bureau of Land Management
Whitefish, MT

Bob Searns
The Greenway Team, Inc.
Littleton, CO
Rodger Schmitt
BLM Retired
Port Townsend, WA

Jim Wood

Kimley-Horn and Associates, Inc.
Office of Policy Planning
Tallahassee, FL


Karen Umphress
UP! Outside
Jordan, MN


American Trails Staff

Mike Passo
Executive Director
American Trails
Bellingham, WA

Candace Gallagher
Director of Operations
American Trails
Redding, CA

Sue Crowe
RTP Database Coordinator
American Trails
Redding, CA

Taylor Goodrich
Communication and Media Specialist
American Trails
Dallas, TX

Kayla Robinson
HR and Administrative Coordinator
American Trails
Redding, CA