Emerging Trail Leader Scholarship Recipient


Oliver Marzetti

Strathaven, Lanarkshire, United Kingdom

I have a long standing appreciation for nature, wildlife, adventure and travel which drove me to study geography at university. During my studies I realized I was very keen on tourism planning, in particular sustainable tourism and ecotourism. I strongly believe that conservation and sustainability for tourism and recreation are fundamental to conservation, livelihoods of rural people and visitor’s quality of experience at a destination. I was given the opportunity to work as a volunteer with a tourism development organization in Nepal which has now led to a paid placement at the same organization. As part of my role I am working on an accreditation system soon to be implemented for the long distance trekking trails in Nepal which involves setting criteria in terms of both quality and sustainability of the trails themselves and the enterprises along them.

The Hulet Hornbeck Emerging Leader Scholarship program appeals to me as I am looking to expand on my experience of trails and conservation in a meaningful way. I believe that I will learn a great deal and develop my skills due to the well-established and immerse nature of the symposium. I am looking to enhance my leadership and teamwork skills as I feel they, and the chance of work with a mentor, will be instrumental as I push forward with my career in conservation and sustainable tourism planning. Furthermore, the scholarship and symposium will introduce me to an experienced network of like-minded professionals and enlighten me to future opportunities.

More winners of this award

2023: Hillary Kiplagat Kibiwott

2023: Foo Chuen Yong

2023: Goda Lukoseviciute

2023: Gabriel Pacheco Santa

2023: Dillon Osleger-Montanez

2023: Mata Townsend

2023: Laura Scrimshaw

2023: Laramie Unruh

2023: Damian Morando

2023: Ashot Davtyan

2023: Alexander DeGrenier

2023: Dave Bingaman

2023: Morgan Wendt

2023: Christine Prescott

2023: Pranil Upadhayaya

2023: Cesar Aspiazu

2023: Pedro Cunha e Menezes

2023: Paula Rascão

2019: Alivia Acosta

2019: Alyssa Wentz

2019: Bonnie Ricord

2019: Cody Arana

2019: Elyse Peters

2019: Erinn Drage

2019: Greg Grierson

2019: India Nielson

2019: Julien Cossette

2019: Julio Escarce

2019: Katie Koster

2019: Kendra Barat

2019: Michael Meister

2019: Mike Giapponi

2019: Nicole Elizabeth Barrios Adames

2017: Adriana Robles

2017: Alejandra Turcios

2017: Amanda Wheelock

2017: Annie Cohen

2017: Berhat ‘Onat’ Alan

2017: Caitlin Toner

2017: Chris Rivera

2017: Dean Arnold

2017: Emily Wilkins

2017: Indie Lewis

2017: Levi Ballard

2017: Montana Napier

2017: Seth Young

2017: Stephanie Cantu

2017: Toyya Mahoney

189 views • posted 12/13/2022