Emerging Trail Leader Scholarship Recipient


Berhat ‘Onat’ Alan

Antalya, Turkey

Since 2015, I worked on 3 long distance walking routes (Lycian Way, St Paul Trail, Evliya Çelebi Way) and have experience in routefinding, clearing and maintenance, leading waymarking team, decide and measure positions of signposts, organise making and placing of signs. I led two volunteer groups, and a group of visitng students, so I have experience working with people from different countries. I have contact with and work with Municipalities, village headmen and villagers along the routes to help our work. I wrote media reports of our work and helped with international media reports.

I also researched bicycle and walking trails in the mountains around Antalya, and have done some rock climbing. I have experience with a GPS, Google Earth, photography and computer and social media skills. I assisted making a short film.

In June 2017 I will finish University and I will work on a project to improve the life of people in one village on the Lycian Way. I also want to work on research of routes and trail making in different parts of Turkey.

More winners of this award

2023: Hillary Kiplagat Kibiwott

2023: Foo Chuen Yong

2023: Goda Lukoseviciute

2023: Gabriel Pacheco Santa

2023: Dillon Osleger-Montanez

2023: Mata Townsend

2023: Laura Scrimshaw

2023: Laramie Unruh

2023: Damian Morando

2023: Ashot Davtyan

2023: Alexander DeGrenier

2023: Dave Bingaman

2023: Morgan Wendt

2023: Christine Prescott

2023: Pranil Upadhayaya

2023: Cesar Aspiazu

2023: Pedro Cunha e Menezes

2023: Paula Rascão

2019: Alivia Acosta

2019: Alyssa Wentz

2019: Bonnie Ricord

2019: Cody Arana

2019: Elyse Peters

2019: Erinn Drage

2019: Greg Grierson

2019: India Nielson

2019: Julien Cossette

2019: Julio Escarce

2019: Katie Koster

2019: Kendra Barat

2019: Michael Meister

2019: Mike Giapponi

2019: Nicole Elizabeth Barrios Adames

2017: Adriana Robles

2017: Alejandra Turcios

2017: Amanda Wheelock

2017: Annie Cohen

2017: Caitlin Toner

2017: Chris Rivera

2017: Dean Arnold

2017: Emily Wilkins

2017: Indie Lewis

2017: Levi Ballard

2017: Montana Napier

2017: Oliver Marzetti

2017: Seth Young

2017: Stephanie Cantu

2017: Toyya Mahoney

222 views • posted 12/13/2022