Emerging Trail Leader Scholarship Recipient


Ashot Davtyan

Yerevan, Argentina

I can’t believe I got the chance to apply for the first scholarship in my life. I am from South Caucasus, Armenia, a country with a growing trail network and hiking industry. I am so proud to be one of the pioneers of the 1st professional trail building project in my country in 2017, when an expert from the US was invited to teach how to build a trail!! This was the year when finally I discovered my passion for trails and outdoor construction.

The following years we started to build more trails involving local volunteers from the rural communities. But unfortunately there is still a lack of professional crew leaders and educational materials. We design and implement educational camps for training more locals to become a crew leader or a trail builder.

The current conflict situation in South Caucasus now makes us more passionate about creating new working opportunities for locals, especially for youth, keeping them in their home towns or villages and developing the tourism and recreation businesses out of the capital. There is a huge potential in the trail industry in my country and I am always looking for the best opportunities to get knowledge, share my own experience and make new contacts having the goal to help locals and communities to develop.

I am grateful to be considered for this scholarship opportunity, and should I be selected, I will use it to bring new opportunities and knowledge to my country and people.

More winners of this award

2023: Hillary Kiplagat Kibiwott

2023: Foo Chuen Yong

2023: Goda Lukoseviciute

2023: Gabriel Pacheco Santa

2023: Dillon Osleger-Montanez

2023: Mata Townsend

2023: Laura Scrimshaw

2023: Laramie Unruh

2023: Damian Morando

2023: Alexander DeGrenier

2023: Dave Bingaman

2023: Morgan Wendt

2023: Christine Prescott

2023: Pranil Upadhayaya

2023: Cesar Aspiazu

2023: Pedro Cunha e Menezes

2023: Paula Rascão

2019: Alivia Acosta

2019: Alyssa Wentz

2019: Bonnie Ricord

2019: Cody Arana

2019: Elyse Peters

2019: Erinn Drage

2019: Greg Grierson

2019: India Nielson

2019: Julien Cossette

2019: Julio Escarce

2019: Katie Koster

2019: Kendra Barat

2019: Michael Meister

2019: Mike Giapponi

2019: Nicole Elizabeth Barrios Adames

2017: Adriana Robles

2017: Alejandra Turcios

2017: Amanda Wheelock

2017: Annie Cohen

2017: Berhat ‘Onat’ Alan

2017: Caitlin Toner

2017: Chris Rivera

2017: Dean Arnold

2017: Emily Wilkins

2017: Indie Lewis

2017: Levi Ballard

2017: Montana Napier

2017: Oliver Marzetti

2017: Seth Young

2017: Stephanie Cantu

2017: Toyya Mahoney

349 views • posted 12/01/2022