Emerging Trail Leader Scholarship Recipient


Foo Chuen Yong

Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia

Formal and sustainable trail building skills and expertise is a rarity in Asia and in particular Malaysia. This is because we do not have great institutions like American Trails and PTBA to champion sustainable trail building skills and offer proper education program for it. Hence to acquire such skills is very expensive for us. I would say almost unattainable. Trail building has not achieved the level of commercialisation as in the US and Europe yet. So many of us run either very small set ups or volunteer our own time to build sustainable trails in Malaysia. My aim is to promote proper and sustainable trail designs and building techniques in Malaysia and start a movement to develop trail building in Malaysia as a thriving business. My trail building set up called MyChangkul is a very small one man Social Enterprise in Malaysia, our 50% of our profits are poureed back into the running of the enterprise and the other 50% is donated . We do not retain any profits for profit sharing or dividends payout. So by getting a sholarship to attend this conference will go a long way to help us reduce our operating cost. By attending this conference I am hopeful that we will learn from others and in turn practice what we learn back home. In attending this conference I hope to bring to he event some diversity where I can share trail building efforts and stories in the Malaysian cultural, geopolitical and tropical rainforest settings.

More winners of this award

2023: Hillary Kiplagat Kibiwott

2023: Goda Lukoseviciute

2023: Gabriel Pacheco Santa

2023: Dillon Osleger-Montanez

2023: Mata Townsend

2023: Laura Scrimshaw

2023: Laramie Unruh

2023: Damian Morando

2023: Ashot Davtyan

2023: Alexander DeGrenier

2023: Dave Bingaman

2023: Morgan Wendt

2023: Christine Prescott

2023: Pranil Upadhayaya

2023: Cesar Aspiazu

2023: Pedro Cunha e Menezes

2023: Paula Rascão

2019: Alivia Acosta

2019: Alyssa Wentz

2019: Bonnie Ricord

2019: Cody Arana

2019: Elyse Peters

2019: Erinn Drage

2019: Greg Grierson

2019: India Nielson

2019: Julien Cossette

2019: Julio Escarce

2019: Katie Koster

2019: Kendra Barat

2019: Michael Meister

2019: Mike Giapponi

2019: Nicole Elizabeth Barrios Adames

2017: Adriana Robles

2017: Alejandra Turcios

2017: Amanda Wheelock

2017: Annie Cohen

2017: Berhat ‘Onat’ Alan

2017: Caitlin Toner

2017: Chris Rivera

2017: Dean Arnold

2017: Emily Wilkins

2017: Indie Lewis

2017: Levi Ballard

2017: Montana Napier

2017: Oliver Marzetti

2017: Seth Young

2017: Stephanie Cantu

2017: Toyya Mahoney

499 views • posted 12/02/2022