Emerging Trail Leader Scholarship Recipient


Pranil Upadhayaya

Kathmandu, Bagmati, Nepal

Nepal including India, Bhutan, Tibet, and Pakistan in South and East Asia is the home of the Great Himalaya Trails (GHT) with over 4500 km of Great Himalaya ranges. Today the GHT in Nepal is a diversified network of trails with roughly divided into two main routes: the 1700 Km long High Route, which winds through high mountain ranges with an average altitude of 3000 – up to 6000 meter and the Low Route (also referred to as the Cultural Route), which wends its way 1500 Km through mid-hills between 1500 and 2500 meter.

Nepal and South Asia’s GHT, is at beginning of its progression for the safety, quality, standards, and positive socio-economic and environmental implications in order to make it (a) impressive for the trail users' meaningful experience and (b) inclusive and increasingly benefactor to local communities with their resilience to climate change.

Since AT is globally position with its leading and growing roles for trail development, quality assurance, funding, and advocacy; my participation in AT’s 25th ITS will give a great opportunity for learning, building relationships, networking, global exchange, find common solutions, collaboration for integrated efforts, and come up with actionable outcomes.

However, my poor affordability from a low-income country (Nepal) for registration, accommodation, and travel to and from USA is bottleneck to participate and both give and take knowledge, skills, and interpretation at this high event. Hence, scholarship is vital for the inclusion of participant like me in the trail universe.

More winners of this award

2023: Hillary Kiplagat Kibiwott

2023: Foo Chuen Yong

2023: Goda Lukoseviciute

2023: Gabriel Pacheco Santa

2023: Dillon Osleger-Montanez

2023: Mata Townsend

2023: Laura Scrimshaw

2023: Laramie Unruh

2023: Damian Morando

2023: Ashot Davtyan

2023: Alexander DeGrenier

2023: Dave Bingaman

2023: Morgan Wendt

2023: Christine Prescott

2023: Cesar Aspiazu

2023: Pedro Cunha e Menezes

2023: Paula Rascão

2019: Alivia Acosta

2019: Alyssa Wentz

2019: Bonnie Ricord

2019: Cody Arana

2019: Elyse Peters

2019: Erinn Drage

2019: Greg Grierson

2019: India Nielson

2019: Julien Cossette

2019: Julio Escarce

2019: Katie Koster

2019: Kendra Barat

2019: Michael Meister

2019: Mike Giapponi

2019: Nicole Elizabeth Barrios Adames

2017: Adriana Robles

2017: Alejandra Turcios

2017: Amanda Wheelock

2017: Annie Cohen

2017: Berhat ‘Onat’ Alan

2017: Caitlin Toner

2017: Chris Rivera

2017: Dean Arnold

2017: Emily Wilkins

2017: Indie Lewis

2017: Levi Ballard

2017: Montana Napier

2017: Oliver Marzetti

2017: Seth Young

2017: Stephanie Cantu

2017: Toyya Mahoney

323 views • posted 03/28/2023