Emerging Trail Leader Scholarship Recipient


Annie Cohen

Washington, DC, United States

I first became enthralled with conservation while on a trail crew in Wind Cave National Park, SD. It was there on the rolling prairie that I first got an inkling of how it was all connected—the visitor, the protected land, the conservation policies set in place, the people who work to protect that resource in various ways. That experience is still what drives me to pursue all forms of job opportunities on public lands. I recently spent a powerful five months on a trail crew in New Hampshire where our crew built hundreds of trail structures with our own combined skills, knowledge, and training. This experience reinforced my knowledge that groups form, grow, and thrive in the outdoors as they work together to solve complicated situations such as the task of setting a large stepping stone in a deep creek using only rock bars and people power.

I want to attend this symposium so that I can continue to explore the various ways that people can connect to the outdoors and connect to each other. I’m also intrigued by the setting-­‐-­‐ I’m excited to see how the symposium approaches discussing the importance of the great outdoors in this Midwest city and how the city introduces its inhabitants to its various trail systems. I am hoping that by attending the symposium and interacting with professionals in the trails world I can get closer to finding the right avenue for me to make the most beneficial impact on youth and public lands.

More winners of this award

2023: Hillary Kiplagat Kibiwott

2023: Foo Chuen Yong

2023: Goda Lukoseviciute

2023: Gabriel Pacheco Santa

2023: Dillon Osleger-Montanez

2023: Mata Townsend

2023: Laura Scrimshaw

2023: Laramie Unruh

2023: Damian Morando

2023: Ashot Davtyan

2023: Alexander DeGrenier

2023: Dave Bingaman

2023: Morgan Wendt

2023: Christine Prescott

2023: Pranil Upadhayaya

2023: Cesar Aspiazu

2023: Pedro Cunha e Menezes

2023: Paula Rascão

2019: Alivia Acosta

2019: Alyssa Wentz

2019: Bonnie Ricord

2019: Cody Arana

2019: Elyse Peters

2019: Erinn Drage

2019: Greg Grierson

2019: India Nielson

2019: Julien Cossette

2019: Julio Escarce

2019: Katie Koster

2019: Kendra Barat

2019: Michael Meister

2019: Mike Giapponi

2019: Nicole Elizabeth Barrios Adames

2017: Adriana Robles

2017: Alejandra Turcios

2017: Amanda Wheelock

2017: Berhat ‘Onat’ Alan

2017: Caitlin Toner

2017: Chris Rivera

2017: Dean Arnold

2017: Emily Wilkins

2017: Indie Lewis

2017: Levi Ballard

2017: Montana Napier

2017: Oliver Marzetti

2017: Seth Young

2017: Stephanie Cantu

2017: Toyya Mahoney

307 views • posted 12/13/2022