Emerging Trail Leader Scholarship Recipient


Indie Lewis

Scottsdale, Arizona, United States

As the Volunteer Engagement Coordinator for the Phoenix Zoo, I am inspired by Hulet’s legacy, and am passionate about discovering new ways to connect my community to the educational trails and experiences provided not only by my home institution, but by our surrounding environment of Papago Park as well. Building grassroots conservation and outreach efforts, developing outdoor education, and preservation of trails are huge components of my field, and I am actively looking to build new understanding on such crucial topics. I am especially excited to be paired with a mentor, who can help provide professional development and share their experience and skills that I can bring back to Arizona and use to collaborate with other local nonprofits, such as Volunteers for Outdoor Arizona.

This scholarship also strongly aligns with my own personal devotion to supporting diversity. The LGBTQ+ community in specific suffers from poor health outcomes that can be drastically improved through trail use. As a member of the LGBTQ+ community, I am driven to improving access and dismantling barriers faced by others when they engage in outdoor activities. This scholarship also embraces creating a multigenerational community that actively works together, which is an amazing attribute I am currently working to support in my own volunteer program.

Finally, if selected, I would be excited to become an active member of the American Trails Community and to begin exploring all the different paths my career can take with the opportunities provided through this scholarship.

More winners of this award

2023: Hillary Kiplagat Kibiwott

2023: Foo Chuen Yong

2023: Goda Lukoseviciute

2023: Gabriel Pacheco Santa

2023: Dillon Osleger-Montanez

2023: Mata Townsend

2023: Laura Scrimshaw

2023: Laramie Unruh

2023: Damian Morando

2023: Ashot Davtyan

2023: Alexander DeGrenier

2023: Dave Bingaman

2023: Morgan Wendt

2023: Christine Prescott

2023: Pranil Upadhayaya

2023: Cesar Aspiazu

2023: Pedro Cunha e Menezes

2023: Paula Rascão

2019: Alivia Acosta

2019: Alyssa Wentz

2019: Bonnie Ricord

2019: Cody Arana

2019: Elyse Peters

2019: Erinn Drage

2019: Greg Grierson

2019: India Nielson

2019: Julien Cossette

2019: Julio Escarce

2019: Katie Koster

2019: Kendra Barat

2019: Michael Meister

2019: Mike Giapponi

2019: Nicole Elizabeth Barrios Adames

2017: Adriana Robles

2017: Alejandra Turcios

2017: Amanda Wheelock

2017: Annie Cohen

2017: Berhat ‘Onat’ Alan

2017: Caitlin Toner

2017: Chris Rivera

2017: Dean Arnold

2017: Emily Wilkins

2017: Levi Ballard

2017: Montana Napier

2017: Oliver Marzetti

2017: Seth Young

2017: Stephanie Cantu

2017: Toyya Mahoney

198 views • posted 12/13/2022