filed under: trail honors & awards

The 2020 RTP Achievement Awards are Back on!

The Coalition for Recreational Trails will host the 2020 achievement awards to recognize outstanding trail projects funded by the national Recreational Trails Program (RTP) virtually this year and will invite winners to in-person celebrations next year.

by American Trails Staff

Dear Trail Enthusiast:

The Coalition for Recreational Trails is excited to announce its 2020 achievement awards to recognize outstanding trail projects funded by the national Recreational Trails Program (RTP). Unlike previous years, there will not be an in-person awards ceremony in Washington, D.C. but, there will be an online “virtual” ceremony later this Summer, and all award winners will be invited to participate in the next “live” event on Capitol Hill (hopefully in 2021). Special guests, including Members of Congress will once again be invited to participate in the online celebration.

For more information on CRT visit

Award winners will be selected from projects nominated by public agencies, trail administrators or other project sponsors. Projects must be completed in order to receive an award. In addition, projects completed before 2011 are ineligible. Project award categories will include: construction and design; maintenance and rehabilitation; public-private partnerships and access to public lands; community linkage; education and communication; accessibility enhancement; multiple-use management and “corridor sharing”; use of youth conservation/service corps and community outreach; engaging public-sector partners; and enhancement of federal lands.

We invite you to nominate an outstanding project and to encourage the sponsor(s) of an excellent project in your state to submit a nomination as well. We are also again encouraging those making nominations to solicit support from their Members of Congress – both U.S. Representatives and U.S. Senators – to build awareness of excellent RTP-funded projects and the RTP program itself.

In another change – this year’s nominations process can be completed in entirety via an online form.

Nominate a Great RTP Project by July 31, 2020


Download a Fillable PDF Form and email to the CRT

The nomination form, including any supporting materials and pictures, should be completed by July 31, 2020, at 5 pm EST. If you have any questions do not hesitate to contact the Coalition’s Awards Committee Chairman Duane Taylor, Executive Director, National Off-Highway Vehicle Conservation Council, at [email protected]

Winners should be notified no later than August 31, 2020.

Information on each winning project will be featured on the website of American Trails. In addition, it is important to note that photos and other materials included as part of the nominations are often used to highlight RTP projects in the Federal Highway Administration Annual Report, CRT’s Facebook page, and in the online RTP Database image gallery. As a result, simply nominating your project may result in increased exposure for your project!

We hope you will join us in this important effort to recognize the significant contributions to trail-related recreation that the Recreational Trails Program is supporting all across the country.

Published May 2020

More Articles in this Category

2021 Tom Petri Annual Achievement Award Winners

Watch the Virtual 2021 Tom Petri Annual Achievement Awards!

2021 Recreational Trails Program Annual Achievement Awards - Call for Nominations

The Coalition for Recreational Trails (CRT), a federation of the nation’s leading national and regional trail-related organizations, is excited to announce plans for the 2021 Tom Petri Annual Achievement Awards recognizing outstanding trail projects funded by the Recreational Trails Program (RTP)

Pam Gluck honored with Roger and Harvey Bell Award

The Professional Trailbuilders Association has honored Pam Gluck with its 2017 Roger and Harvey Bell Lifetime Achievement Award for outstanding service to the trails community. The award was presented at the PTBA Trailbuilders Conference in Bend, Oregon, March 15, 2017. Pam provided the following letter in her acceptance of the award.