The Trail Fund is a joint initiative of the Trails Move People Coalition, led by American Trails, to assist the trails community with funding to support maintenance, research, and stewardship training needs.


2022 Awarded Projects

photo credit: Wozu, Inc.

Cannonball Bike Trails - ND

photo credit: Friends of Panthertown

Panthertown Valley Trail - NC


Ridge Trail Service Day - CA

photo credit: Partnership for the National Trails System (PNTS)

National Trails Workshop - NM

photo credit: Tim Malzhan, Trail Eyes LLC

Westabrook Trail Bridge - WI

photo credit: Wild Alabama

Wild Alabama

WVU Mountain Bike Research

Learn More about 2022 Winning Projects

What is The Trail Fund?

American Trails, in partnership with the Trails Move People coalition, has created an emerging grant program known as “The Trail Fund” that is dedicated to maintaining and enhancing America’s trails through maintenance, research, and stewardship training projects.

The deadline has passed for 2022 funding. It is our intention for interested individuals/organizations to be able to apply for funding every year. The amount of funding available and number of grants we can offer will vary year by year based on sponsorship support. We are continuing to accept sponsorships and donors for this program.

Questions? Email [email protected] or call 530-605-4395.

Watch the Webinar!

Watch the recording of our March 31 webinar to learn more about this funding opportunity (and two other trail stewardship funding opportunities via our sister fund, National Wilderness Stewardship Alliance).

Download the recording...

Donate to the Trail Fund

The Trail Fund Collaborators


View a complete list of all sponsors and donors.