National Scenic Trails

National Scenic Trail is a designation for trails that consist of trails of particular natural beauty. They are among America's most iconic trails.


The 11 current National Scenic Trails, according to the Trails Act, "will be extended trails so located as to provide for maximum outdoor recreation potential and for the conservation and enjoyment of the nationally significant scenic, historic, natural, or cultural qualities." These trails include the three north-south trails that run from Mexico to Canada, and other long-distance routes in scenic area.

The National Park Service, Bureau of Land Management, USDA Forest Service, U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service, and US Army Corps of Engineers— play key roles in administering and managing these trails, while the Federal Highway Administration has been an important source of funding for them.

Designated National Scenic Trails

Appalachian Trail

Arizona Trail

Continental Divide Trail

Florida Trail

Ice Age Trail

Natchez Trace Trail

New England National Scenic Trail

North Country Trail

Pacific Crest Trail

​The Pacific Northwest Trail

​The Potomac Heritage Trail