Indigenous Futures in Parks and Protected Area Management

This is the fourth webinar session in the Centering Indigenous Futures in Outdoor Recreation Training Series by the Society of Outdoor Recreation Professionals.

Presented by: Society of Outdoor Recreation Professionals


Event Details

** This event has passed **

November 02, 2022

12:00 PM to 01:30 PM (Pacific Time) {more time zones}

01:00 PM to 02:30 PM (Mountain Time)
02:00 PM to 03:30 PM (Central Time)
03:00 PM to 04:30 PM (Eastern Time)

Contact Information

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meetings. Please contact Rachel if you have questions or need any help with registration: [email protected]

Website

https://us06web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZwvc-yopzsiE9U55CF_CqjifDJ8CdAaCeUl



Description

U.S. public land and water management are grounded in settler colonialism, including Indigenous land dispossessions and violations of Tribal Treaties. This free training series features four sessions that bring Indigenous scholars and land managers into conversation about reimagining outdoor recreation through decolonization, Indigenous value systems, and Indigenous futures.

Each 90 minute session will feature a panel presentation from Indigenous leaders and breakout discussions with participants to further the dialogue around outdoor recreation professionals’ role in decolonization.

Registration is required. The sessions will be recorded and posted to the SORP website. You don't have to attend all four sessions, but it is highly encouraged to view any sessions you miss before participating in the next session.

 

 


Disclaimer

While we may individually agree (or disagree) in whole or in part with any or all of the participants, the views expressed in these webinars are not necessarily representative of the views of American Trails as an organization or its board and staff.

Terms and Privacy Policy

By registering for this webinar, you submit your information to the webinar organizer and associated presenters and sponsors, who may use it to communicate with you regarding this event and their other services. You can easily cancel your registration at any time.


More Trainings by Society of Outdoor Recreation Professionals