The Hulet Hornbeck Emerging Leaders Scholarship Program was launched in 2013 as part of the American Trails International Trails Symposium. The program was named in memory of lifelong trail activist Hulet Hornbeck.


Since inception, we have offered scholarships to 66 worthy recipients, not including our current year. Starting with the 2023 International Trails Summit, American Trails and the Professional TrailBuilders Association (PTBA) have partnered on the ETL scholarship program to offer future scholarships at ITS, as well as PTBA’s annual conference (opposite years of ITS) and plan to provide more support post-conference to scholarship recipients.

Donate to the ETL Program

2023 Recipients

2019 Recipients

Alivia Acosta

Unity, Maine, United States

Alyssa Wentz

Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania, United States

Bonnie Ricord

Columbia, Missouri, United States

Elyse Peters

Jasper, Alabama, United States

Erinn Drage

Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Greg Grierson

Dayton, Ohio, United States

India Nielson

Salt Lake City, Utah, United States

Julien Cossette

Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Julio Escarce

Santa Monica, California, United States

Katie Koster

Spearfish, South Dakota, United States

Kendra Barat

Franklin Park, New Jersey, United States

Michael Meister

Nashville, Tennessee, United States

Michael Meister

Nashville, Tennessee, United States

Mike Giapponi

Bethlehem, Connecticut, United States

2017 Recipients

Adriana Robles

Fresno, California, United States

Alejandra Turcios

San Salvador, El Salvador

Amanda Wheelock

Asheville, North Carolina, United States

Annie Cohen

Washington, DC, United States

Berhat ‘Onat’ Alan

Antalya, Turkey

Caitlin Toner

Pocatello, Idaho, United States

Chris Rivera

Atascadero California, United States

Dean Arnold

Phoenix, Arizona, United States

Emily Wilkins

Fort Collins, Colorado, United States

Indie Lewis

Scottsdale, Arizona, United States

Levi Ballard

Vail, Colorado, United States

Montana Napier

Oak Harbor, Washington, United States

Oliver Marzetti

Strathaven, Lanarkshire, United Kingdom

Seth Young

Inman, North Carolina, United States

Stephanie Cantu

Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States

Toyya Mahoney

Las Vegas, Nevada, United States

562 views • posted 12/26/2022