252 views • posted 04/04/2023 • updated 04/04/2023

Emerging Trail Leader Scholarship Recipient


Paula Rascão

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

As a hiker and trail professional, being at ITS is a great opportunity to learn about initiatives that are being implemented and also those that are working successful around the world. It is also an opportunity to meet the most renowned professionals in the area and exchange experiences on trail planning and management. I am also interested in learning about other initiatives related to technology and innovation for trails.

I'm a Tourismologist. I've been joining my experience acquired working in several sectors of the tourism industry and my passion about nature and outdoor activities in order to propose innovative projects that contribute to the development of Brazilian Trails.

I'm a founder and CEO at eTrilhas, which is a digital platform to promote and manage trails. I also work with consultancy in the implementation of trail systems and long distance trails in Brazilian destinations.

I represented Brazil in the Next Generation Trails Visionaires Expedition, in Japan.

I'm a board member of Brazilian Trails Network and the World Trails Network - Hub for the Americas.

More winners of this award

2023: Hillary Kiplagat Kibiwott

2023: Foo Chuen Yong

2023: Goda Lukoseviciute

2023: Gabriel Pacheco Santa

2023: Dillon Osleger-Montanez

2023: Mata Townsend

2023: Laura Scrimshaw

2023: Laramie Unruh

2023: Damian Morando

2023: Ashot Davtyan

2023: Alexander DeGrenier

2023: Dave Bingaman

2023: Morgan Wendt

2023: Christine Prescott

2023: Pranil Upadhayaya

2023: Cesar Aspiazu

2023: Pedro Cunha e Menezes

2019: Alivia Acosta

2019: Alyssa Wentz

2019: Bonnie Ricord

2019: Cody Arana

2019: Elyse Peters

2019: Erinn Drage

2019: Greg Grierson

2019: India Nielson

2019: Julien Cossette

2019: Julio Escarce

2019: Katie Koster

2019: Kendra Barat

2019: Michael Meister

2019: Mike Giapponi

2019: Nicole Elizabeth Barrios Adames

2017: Adriana Robles

2017: Alejandra Turcios

2017: Amanda Wheelock

2017: Annie Cohen

2017: Berhat ‘Onat’ Alan

2017: Caitlin Toner

2017: Chris Rivera

2017: Dean Arnold

2017: Emily Wilkins

2017: Indie Lewis

2017: Levi Ballard

2017: Montana Napier

2017: Oliver Marzetti

2017: Seth Young

2017: Stephanie Cantu

2017: Toyya Mahoney