Awards were presented at the 23rd International Trails Symposium - May 7-10, 2017, Dayton, Ohio.

American Trails presents the Advancing Trails Awards Program to recognize the tremendous contributions of volunteers, professionals, and other leaders who are working for the betterment of trails both nationally and internationally in both rural and urban settings. American Trails honors the contributions of leaders who are working for the advancement of trails across the country and around the world.

Winners of Advancing Trails Awards for 2017

2017 Hulet Hornbeck Lifetime Service Award

Reese Lukei, Jr.

Reese’s keen sense of purpose and visionary ideas have helped organizations to grow and prosper.

2017 Trail Accessibility Award

Hawk Mountain Sanctuary

A new smooth, natural pathway with benches, accessible trailside restrooms, and viewing platform provides a more accessible wildlife experience.

2017 Trail Partnership Award

Waldo County Trails Coalition

Waldo County Trails Coalition support community wellness by creating more opportunities for outdoor recreation, environmental education, nature observation.

2017 Trail Planning & Design Award

City of San Jose and Callander Associates

The City of San Jose and Callander Associates SKY Lane Vision Study considers an aerial trail through southeast Downtown San Jose.

2017 Trail Planning & Design Award, Level Two

Greater Yellowstone Trail Concept Plan

Greater Yellowstone Trail Concept Plan seeks to provide a sustainable, healthy, and authentic way to experience Montana landscapes and history.

2017 Trail Promotion and Education Award

Cleveland Metroparks Trail Ambassador Volunteer Program

Cleveland Metroparks Trail Ambassador Volunteer Program helps provide an exceptional guest experience by interacting with the public to provide assistance, guidance, and education.

2017 Trails for Health Award

Quad City Health Initiative, Be Healthy QC Coalition, and Bi-State Regional Commission

Quad City Health Initiative, Be Healthy QC Coalition, and Bi-State Regional Commission are working to promote trails and to create a culture of wellness that supports healthy eating and active living.

2017 International Planning & Design Award

Tasmania Parks and Wildlife Service

Tasmania Parks and Wildlife Service in Australia developed the Three Capes Track, a 28.5 mile easy to moderate bushwalk, complete with overnight cabins, through the scenic Tasman National Park.

2017 State Award

Alabama: Steve Newton

Steve Newton is a passionate advocate for safety in Off-Highway Vehicle access in Alabama.

2017 State Award

Colorado: Governor John Hickenlooper

Governor John Hickenlooper has elevated trails to a new level in Colorado.

2017 State Award

Georgia: Marcie Moore

Marcie is an employee of Gwinnett County Parks & Recreation and manages the County’s Greenway program.

2017 State Award

Hawaii: David Nash

The International Mountain Bike Association chapter, Oahu Mountain Bike Ohana (OMTB), is a nonprofit organization for bicyclists on the Hawaiian island of Oahu. Led by mountain cyclist, David Nash, the organization’s sole purpose is to facilitate and implement projects that expand bicycle riding opportunities.

2017 State Award

Idaho: Tom Laws

Tom demonstrates a resounding commitment to the bicycle and pedestrian network of southwest Idaho.

2017 State Award

Indiana: Paul Arlinghaus

Paul has been involved at nearly every level of trail development, including design, construction, and maintenance, on over 100 miles of mountain bike trails in Indiana.

2017 State Award

Louisiana: Lieutenant Governor Billy Nungesser

Lieutenant Governor Billy Nungesser has been a recreational trails advocate and builder for over a decade.

2017 State Award

Minnesota: Sally Hausken

Sally Hausken has done what many thought was impossible in a small, rural based community in west central Minnesota.

2017 State Award

Nevada: Vince La Plante

Vince is an established trail builder having constructed some of the most complex multi-use trail systems in the intermountain west and in Nevada.

2017 State Award

North Dakota: Nick Ybarra

Nick has been the leading force in saving the legendary Maah Daah Hey trail in western North Dakota.

2017 State Award

Ohio: Andrew Bashaw

The Buckeye Trail Association builds, maintains, and promotes the use of a 1,400 mile statewide trail.

2017 State Award

Ohio: Ralph Protano

In 2012, Ralph was hired by Ohio’s Cleveland Metroparks to start up a new Trails Division.

2017 State Award

West Virginia: Diana Druga

Diana is an avid bicyclist and hiker, and a long-time member of the Rails to Trails Conservancy.

2017 State Award

Wisconsin: Tim Malzhan

Tim is the Field Operations Director with the Ice Age Trail Alliance, the non-profit arm of the Ice Age National Scenic Trail.