Browse Common Topics
Search our Website

Help with NRT Designation Process

Hosted by AmericanTrails.org

 

Contact a staff person with the appropriate agency for help with NRT applications for designation and other aspects of the NRT Program:

arrow NRT Annual Designations Index includes year-by-year details of annual designations and links to featured trails

 

Contacts for National Recreation Trail designation

There are two application procedures depending on whether the trail is on land administered by the US Department of Agriculture (typically National Forests), or on any other land (US Department of the Interior).

 

U.S. Department of the Interior
Contacts for National Recreation Trails

For trails on private, city, county, or state land, or lands administered by the Bureau of Land Management, National Park Service, US Fish & Wildlife Service

 

Alaska Office (AK)
Paul Clark • paul1_clark@nps.gov • (907) 644-3586

Seattle Office (ID, OR, WA)
Sue Abbott • sue_abbott@nps.gov • (206) 220-4116

Pacific Great Basin Office (CA, HI, NV)
Anne Dove • anne_dove@nps.gov • (323) 441-9307

Intermountain Office (AZ, CO, MT, NM, OK, TX, UT, WY)
Attila Bality • attila_bality@nps.gov • (505) 346-2871 X213

Midwest Office (AR, IA, IL, IN, KS, MI, MN, MO, NE, ND, OH, SD, WI)
Rory Robinson • rory_robinson@nps.gov • (330) 657-2951

Philadelphia Office (DE, MD, NJ, PA, VA, WV)
Peggy Pings •peggy_pings@nps.gov • (304) 293-7528

Boston Office (CT, ME, MA, NH, NY, RI, VT)
Lelia Mellen • lelia_mellen@nps.gov • (802) 457-3368 Ext. 14

Southeast Office (AL, FL, GA, KY, LA, MS, NC, SC, TN)
Deirdre (Dee) Hewitt • deirdre_hewitt@nps.gov • (404) 507- 5691

National Capital Office (DC, and parts of MD, VA, WV)
Beth Porter •beth_porter@nps.gov• (202) 690-5169

 

U.S. Department of Agriculture

Contacts for National Recreation Trails

For trails on National Forests, National Grasslands, and National Recreation Areas and associated lands

 

Crystal Merica, Dispersed Recreation
USDA Forest Service
Recreation, Heritage and Volunteer Resources Staff, Washington Office • p: 202-205-3562
ckmerica@fs.fed.us
201 14th Street, SW Washington, DC 20250

 

 


The National Recreation Trails program is jointly administered by the federal land management agencies (National Park Service, U.S. Forest Service, Bureau of Land Management, U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service, and U.S. Army Corps of Engineers) in conjunction with nonprofit partners, notably American Trails, which hosts the National Recreation Trails website at http://www.americantrails.org/nationalrecreationtrails.

For more about the new designations and details of many featured trails, please visit:
www.AmericanTrails.org/nationalrecreationtrails
.

 

trail noteEach year nominations for designation of new National Recreation Trails may be submitted. Details of the program may be found on the NRT website hosted by American Trails. The National Recreation Trail Program recognizes trails that provide opportunities for all Americans to enjoy the out-of-doors and improve the quality of life of our communities.

 

 

trail database

 



Facebook Twitter

Stay up to date on legislative issues for trails, follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

 

trail database

The on-line database has details on the currently designated National Recreation Trails. The NRT Program online is hosted by American Trails: www.AmericanTrails.org

 

The NTTP Online Calendar connects you with courses, conferences, and trail-related training

 

Promote your trail through the National Recreation Trails Program

 

PDF  Some of our documents are in PDF format and require free Adobe Acrobat Reader software.
  Download Acrobat Reader

 

section 508 logo American Trails and NTTP support accessibility with Section 508: read more.