American Trails header
Section 508 Navigation
Skip Navigation
HomeAbout usTrailsWhat's hotCalendarTrainingResources & libraryPartnersJoin usStore

19th National Trails Symposium in Little Rock, Arkansas, November 15-18, 2008

National Trails Awards for 2008 honor people and programs

Read the details of winners of the 2008 National Trails Awards

arrow See the 2010 National Trails Award nominations to be celebrated at the American Trails National Symposium in Chattanooga, TN Nov. 14-17, 2010

American Trails 19th National Trails Awards Celebration Banquet ~ On the Path of Excellence

photo of award winners
At the American Trails 19th National Trails Awards Celebration

Date: Monday, November 17
Time: 7:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m.
Cost: Included with Registration ($35.00 for guests)

The National Trails Awards is one way American Trails recognizes the exemplary people across the landscape of America who are working to create a national system of trails to meet the recreation, health, and travel needs of all Americans. American Trails will honor outstanding efforts made by agencies, trail professionals, the private sector, corporations, media, and others at the American Trails 19th National Trails Awards Celebration Banquet.

Help us celebrate the 40-Year Anniversary of the National Trails System Act. The Keynote for the evening will be Steve Elkinton. Steve has served as the National Trails System Program Leader in the Washington Office of the National Park Service since 1989. He has been intimately involved with developing and implementing policy relating to National Scenic and Historic Trails, and in recommending changes to the Act. No one speaks more eloquently to the history of the National Trails System Act and how it has influenced the trails movement today

Please join us for this gala affair (business or dress attire) and help celebrate the worthy recipients of these awards:

Award categories & criteria

Trail Advocacy Award: (1 award per State, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico):
Nominee(s) must have demonstrated successful efforts to influence public policy relating to trail planning, trail protection, trail development, or maintenance.

Trail Worker Award: (1 award per State, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico): Nominee must have made outstanding contributions and provided consistent support for trail planning, development, or maintenance. This award is intended to recognize the commitment and efforts of a private or public sector individual in working for enhanced trail recreation in their local area or state.

Best Trails State Award (new this year): This award recognizes a state which is facilitating an outstanding statewide system of trails. The nomination should address any aspects that have led to the establishment of the statewide trails network including master planning, legislation, funding, and program implementation. The nomination should also include specific projects, plans, policies and/or initiatives that have furthered establishment and expansion of the trails network during the past two years. (Once a state wins, it will not be eligible for nomination again until after two successive awards cycles or a minimum of four years have passed.)

Trails for Health Award: The award recognizes a community's commitment to improving access to trails and promoting their use and importance for increasing physical activity. The award is for commitment to long term change through community design, trail planning, heightened awareness of active community environments, physical activity promotion, and increased trail use.

Lifetime Service Award: For an individual demonstrating longstanding, significant, and exemplary service to trails planning, implementation, and recreation.

Partnership Award: The partnership must have benefited agencies or services within the field of trail planning, design, or implementation. The partnership can be between private organizations, public agencies, or public and private interests. The partnership must have contributed toward positive public exposure for the field of trail planning, design, or implementation.

Trails Public Service Award: The nominee must work for an agency and may hold an elected or appointed office at the federal, state, or local level and must have demonstrated significant and consistent support of trail planning, design, or implementation through strong leadership and/or legislative efforts. The nominee may be a paid employee or a volunteer.

Community Service Award (new this year): This honors a trail organization that performs exceptional community service relating to but beyond trail work per se. This service could include actions or projects that contribute to making their communities better places to live, improve the natural environment, support worthy causes, and/or demonstrate in other ways preeminent volunteerism.

Outstanding Media Award: Nominee(s) must have demonstrated significant and sustained efforts to provide positive public exposure and education in the field of trail use, planning, design, or implementation. The nominee must have demonstrated a willingness and receptiveness to provide free public service exposure about trails.

Trails and the Arts Award: The award recognizes outstanding public art projects, interpretive signs, or other creative structures associated with trail related improvements.

Planning/Design Award: Nominee(s) must have demonstrated problem solving through innovative methods on a trail project. The project must have included successful aspects of public participation and/or public agency involvement and have been planned to enhance the recreational trails opportunities within the project area.

Corporate Award: A business or corporation must have demonstrated significant, sustained, and exemplary service to trails planning, implementation, and/or recreation.

State-of-the-Art Technology Award: The award recognizes a trails-related product, process, or service that has significantly met a need, addressed an issue, or increased efficiency in trail design, development, or maintenance.

Outstanding Trail Sharing Award: The award recognizes innovative and successful trail sharing efforts, programs, and systems.

New Award: We will also be awarding the first ever American Trails’ Developer Recognition Awards. This new program will recognize quality, well-designed multi-use trails systems that are integrated into private developments.

Read the details of winners of the 2006 National Trails Awards

General sessions
Keynote speakers
Featured workshops
Mobile workshops
Concurrent sessions

More things to do

Exhibit Hall
Be a sponsor
Sponsorship levels

National Awards
Be a volunteer

Volunteer signup
Planning team


Logistics + contacts

Quad Cities 2006
Austin 2004
Chattanooga 2010

2006 Awards
2008 Awards

The "Medical Mile" project

Art and Health on the Medical Mile

More photos: Cool Trail Solutions

The "Big Dam Bridge" project

Little Rock's Arkansas River Trail

Arkansas conquers a trails funding crisis

Little Rock Parks & Recreation

The Mississippi River Trail

Arkansas Trails page

Ozark-St. Francis National Forests

Ouachita National Forest

Symposium will celebrate 40th anniversary of National Trails System Act



Join American Trails


page end graphic

American Trails home | Contact us | Mission | Board of directors | Members | Site map | Copyright | NRT | NTTP